Rebirthing a powder based printer


I have been busy the last couple of weeks getting a powder based 3D printer up and running to continue the research I started with Mark Ganter of the University of Washington. Ron Cerkueira of the Applied Technology Division Fresno City College (who installed the nifty powder overflow bin in the picture) has been supporting my research and teaching me his tricks in his lab for a few years now. A week and a half ago, I began refurbishing one of Ron’s machines to test powder formulas and come up with less expensive alternatives to printing for our students. So far I have (with Mark’s much needed coaching) dealt with a stuck feed bin, replacing and cleaning out crusty lines and a clogged/overheated head. I have printed one object so far with UW plaster V2 powder and XB1 binder fluid (see http://open3dp.me.washington.edu/ for the formulas). There more challenges to overcome, but our first goal is to release the formula for the cementenous metal casting powder in October.

Leave a Reply

